My happy ending

11 Jan

I had gone through nearly the whole Mills and Boons series by the time I was finishing high school. The same with the Silhouette, Sweet Valley High (and University) and Harlequin books. Don’t even get me started about Danielle Steele. Damn! I clung to every single word of the 400 and something odd pages of each novel till I almost choked the emotion out of it. Her books were unputdownable (is that even a word???). I’d get into bed with one of these and only put it down grudgingly when mum barked for me to switch off the lights for the umpteenth time from the bedroom across the hall at around 3am. I would curse and moan and wish for the day I’d have my own house just to be able to read till whatever time I wanted. I was naïve I know. Eventually I would fall asleep dreaming of the happy ending that awaited me the next morning. It had to be a happy ending. I would save every penny just to be able to buy a clean new book. No Stephen King for me, no thanks!

The story line was invariably the same, or at least similar, with just a change of scenario and characters. Young pretty, smart girl meets dashing, rich fellow who sweeps her off her designer-clad feet. Right from the first day they know their love is meant to be hence they proceed to fall madly and deeply in love and swear to love each other forever. As life would have it, they would encounter enough seemingly serious (at the time – I was young you see 😉 ) obstacles, trials, temptations, etc would be overcome and she would finally end up in the arms of her TDH (Tall, Dark, and Handsome) knight in shining armour. This notwithstanding that I have never seen a knight nor do they exist in my part of the world. I hung onto every script for dear life; clang onto every word till the couple kissed, made up, did other adult things that I shall not write about here and all troubles were damned. Love had triumphed!!

Is it any wonder then that am such a hopeless romantic? I love being in love. I love seeing happy couples desperately in love. I love the idea of love itself. I love love (sic). I believe in happy endings. J I am that annoying mushy girl, that’s me.

Not that life has not done its best to dissuade me from this inclination. Many times life and love has knocked me down, like seriously knocked me down, kama basement hivi. I have sworn a million and one times never to believe in all this love nonsense, never to believe in a happy ending. Infact it might have succeeded quite abit; you see a healthy dose of cynicism has slowly encroached my heart and made a dwelling place in the hardest part of my heart. Other times someone has broken my heart and I could swear Avril Lavigne wrote “So much for my happy ending” just for me. But still a part of me refuses to give in, I still believe in love. Still I give love a chance. I still await my happy ending

One of the most profound lessons I learnt from my mum is the power of positive thinking and of making positive confessions and prophesies about my life even in the midst of the toughest adversity. The same message has been drummed to me by my boss and colleagues at my new job. It’s like a rule here, one that I am happy to abide by (for once). I choose to still see good in mankind, I choose to believe that my life will turn out just right because, why shouldn’t it? I choose to believe that my knight in shining (less shine please) armour exists. Since I do not live anywhere in England or Scotland or some such place, I will not complain if along comes a TDH with a deep fear and love of God, wonderful smart mind, a beautiful smile(window to the heart), a loving heart, stylish look and a chivalrous demeanor. If he should also happen to drive a mean X6 or Audi Q7 whom am I to fault fate? 🙂

Bottom-line is, here I am, still hopeful, scratch that, still SURE of my happy ending.

 

9 Responses to “My happy ending”

  1. lonelyafricanbeauty January 12, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Oh babe Sambaza pap… Less shine too ! lol.

  2. Rachael January 12, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Mills & Boon memories memories….
    TDH ….. ooh i also wish i would get one but unfortunately we never choose who we fall in love with…

    • not-so-little Miss Random! January 12, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      Rech, true say!! We don’t choose who we fall in love with, love just hits us like a tonne of bricks. My Peanut is not exactly TDH too lol :)) but love him I do.

      Btw I saw you on a pic on Mrs. Mwiti’s blog (her wedding pics) and I was like small world, that girl is my friend too!! Xoxo!!

  3. mrsmwiti January 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    ‘…less shine please!…’ LMAO

  4. not-so-little Miss Random! January 11, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    And you will get it coz you want it. Just wait for my invoice when it comes!

    xoxo!

  5. wiselar January 11, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I want my own happy-ending!
    And I like what you said, “…making positive confessions and prophesies about my life…”

  6. Zippy January 11, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Carole the first paragraph took me back in time, oh the DS and Mills and Boons… And the fights to put off the lamp! Kagwatera… Lol. Tumetoka mbali. The harsh words I got for being always in the library trying to ‘chop’ but honestly I was deep in some romantic novel….

    I too believe in giving love a chance! I am sure of some TDH too! Lol.

    Thanks gal for this piece.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! January 12, 2011 at 9:34 am #

      Zippy, I can see you kwa Lib chopping a DS like there was an exam. Enyewe we’ve tokad far, but what matters is where we are going. On the TDH, if I get one nitasambaza kwako lol

Leave a Reply

