The thing is……..

13 Jan

The thing is, the last two weeks have been heaven and hell in equal measure! Sweet mother of all that is good and pure!! I have never been this busy, tired and edgy!! From a business standpoint, things have never been better. It is early January and work is trickling in from all corners. There is business that I have been following up since last year that is finally materializing, there are orders that I most certainly did not expect and there are those that am falling into effortlessly just by being in the right place and the right time. Thank YOU God! Wharr!! If the rest of the year goes like this I can hit my targets comfortably by June. Buuuuut, and this is a huge but, the upsurge in orders is directly proportional to the amount of work I now find on my desk. Holy cow! I am constantly under pressure, yaani no break and its driving me nuts. The work is a lot and the deadlines are so tight. If it weren’t such a blessing I would complain (this is not me complaining, I am just ranting 🙂 ). I have been at it since 5am this morning for a 3pm and COB (who comes up with these annoying abbreviations?) deadline. At around 9:30am, I ran into a substantial and possibly earth shattering problem, my brain officially took leave. Try as I may this “very urgent” stuff is not making sense. They are just excel sheets and Acrobat documents now. I cant focus, my bloody mind keeps wondering. I even tried to facebook and read my fave blogs for a while but nothing doing. Am screwed!!

You see I am not one of those people who can sit at their desk from morning till evening without breaking and still produce fabulous results. Not by a long short. I cant even sit from 8am to lunch time without a break, thats how bad it is. I have a low concentration span. Anything that goes on for hours and hours is definately not my thing. I guess this explains why I am in Business Development, another decorous term for Sales. Yes, I love going from meeting to meeting, lunch after lunch, dinner after dinner, golf game after another, sometimes making a sale and getting paid for it. Not that that is all I do, sometimes I even do breakfast meetings and write a report about it. Seriously though, I like that my job matches my personality. BD (Business Development) is the best profession for an adrenaliane junkie like me. There are short moments (phew) of such intense pressure you think you will explode followed by long blissfull periods of doing nothing but lunches and drinks and follow up “meetings” on the company’s tab. Somehow, and please don’t ask me how, it works and at the end of the year I am as surprised as everyone else that I achieved and sometimes  surpassed my targets. If you ever doubted there is a God, kula hiyo.

So anywho, I am not complaining lakini could this week end already? Hopefully now that I have vented I can go back to earning my pay. Cross your fingers with me darlings

P/S: By the way if I was not doing my daily morning runs (between 5:45am – 7am) I would totally have gone bonkers the last few weeks. Thats how crazy its been especially since I am having major issues on the personal front as well. That run and walk really helps to clear my mind up and get my heart rate up in readiness for the day’s madness.

3 Responses to “The thing is……..”

  1. Jackson Mwangi January 14, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    The green paper is good…especially if its made to multiply and multiply some more

  2. Jackson Mwangi January 14, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Thats why they pay you in green currency…dont you think?

Leave a Reply

