Throwdown Fridays!!

14 Jan

Being one who looks forward to and enjoys weekends as much as the next person, maybe slightly more 😉 , I have decided to have “Throwdown Fridays” to indulge my inner Dj and hopefully entertain ya’ll. Throwdown Fridays only because I could not find a more catchy phrase in my head, aargh, too much pressure!

On most Fridays for the last X years of my employment, I have tapped into my inner DJ with the help of a vast personal music library and youtube and “rogad” myself mad. I have been known to dance alone in the office sometimes too 🙂 – am special I know, but I’ve embraced it.

Anywho, my first love when it comes to music is reggae. I fell in love with the genre when I was a little girl courtesy of my ‘nutty’ uncle and never looked back. I would spend hours with LP’s of Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Gregory Isaacs, Burning Spear, Don Carlos, Morgan Heritage, Marcia Griffiths, Buju Banton, Beres Hammond and other big names. Half the time I did not know what they were saying but the music would move me to tears. Mum even complained that my uncle was turning me into a “Mungiki” (Illegal sect in Kenya) Over the years our relationship has taken many faces, from an almost fanatical following to a distant one but still the love has stayed and grown.

So every Friday we will bring down the roof, er, blogosphere down with some big tunes and shake our ATMs (African Trade Marks) like there’s no kesho from my screen to yours!!

Dj Carole throwing down some of my big tunes for this Furahi-day!! Mwaah my lovelies

This track is hotter than a Somali summer people. My new biiiiig tune from my gal M, Duane Stephenson feat my darling Gramps Morgan – Rescue me

Illest Song, always makes me cry. Comfort zone – Busy Signal

I love me some Maxi Priest – My gal dis

4 Responses to “Throwdown Fridays!!”

  1. Kez January 14, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Aaaaw ‘nutty carole’,
    Awesome stuff! I’m on a roll. You’va made my evening – seeing as I will be here for much longer – swamped with work and like you, the short concentration span. humph! @_@

    • not-so-little Miss Random! January 14, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      Next time I go out I’ll buy you a serious mix seeing as you might be held indoors for a while 😉 Kisses!

  2. Bryan January 14, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    This is sissy but i will say it all the same….I thought i had a loose nut when reggae moved me to tears..but i see if that’s they case…at least there is someone else with a loose nut…

    Your blog has made my day and am sure my weekend to….

    • not-so-little Miss Random! January 14, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      Bryan,

      You are no sissy, Reggae is music for the soul. Though I admit the thought of you shedding a tear would crack me up hahaahaaa! Thanks for beinf a guest here, Karibu

Leave a Reply

