Lessons from the River and the Source

21 Jan

A conversation I had this morning reminded me of Akoko, the heroine in Margaret Ogola’s “The River and the Source”, the setbook I enjoyed more than any other all those years ago in high school (I scored an A in English too but do I say?)

What’s a woman without pride? What’s a woman without ‘nyadhi’?

What’s a woman without some feminine grace and arrogance even?

What’s a woman who does not believe in her own value and safeguard it selfishly?

I am a PROUD woman. Deal with it.

 

3 Responses to “Lessons from the River and the Source”

  1. christine nkirote March 9, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    am a student at st clare girls.my name is christine nkirote and my best subject is english.actually this book is very nice.

    • Newton Emmanuel October 28, 2013 at 12:34 am #

      This is a very intresting novel,esp,for those who r ready to embrace change and most of all,for the African woman.

  2. Lilian February 6, 2013 at 10:43 am #

    And a society without women is like a river without a source

Leave a Reply

