Isn’t it annoying?

31 Jan

I think one of our learning institutions needs to come up with a short course on mobile phone and social networking etiquette. The English language is facing swift extinction my friends if the way people are writing it is anything to go by.

Writing like a 2nd grader is entirely your choice, but forcing me to read the gibberish you write is unnecessary cruelty. I don’t know if it is just me but I get terribly annoyed at educated adults who cant write proper English. I have been sent texts that I cannot for the life of me understand, others I have to ask for help to decipher the l8rs, tnx, c-in, jes, lv, tc, etc. It’s just annoying! Maybe on text its kinder bearable seeing as you have limited characters per message but whats your excuse when you have a qwerty keyboard and no shortage of space? It’s getting harder and harder to communicate with some people, so if your text or wallpost or inbox to me has gone unanswered maybe you are part of the problem.

The other annoying group are those with those “ringback” tones for their incoming calls. It doesn’t help matters whenever I call you to discuss business and I have to listen to some deadbeat rapper mouthing expletives at 8am in the morning. First of all its an assault on my ear drums and secondly, I just will not take you seriously after that. You may love listening to Juma Nature in the morning but that does not mean your callers do. Whats the point of putting it if you are not the one who will listen to it in the first place? Whoever came up with this concept gets a major FAIL from me. And if I have to listen to Kidum one more time aki I will hang up!

*end of rant*

4 Responses to “Isn’t it annoying?”

  1. shikomsa February 1, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    They cannot be excused even on text considering this whole new language takes even longer to write than it would using T9 for example to do your texts. I took a whole hour to type that article at mine.

    Lol at Juma Nature. First thing in the morning and he’s asking you Nyundo yake italala wapi?! I don’t do the ‘ringback’ things either.

    Kidum. Sigh. Talk of an overplayed musician!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 1, 2011 at 10:37 am #

      Shiko, exactly my point. I was so jazzed when Nyambura referred me to your article. I don’t know if its laziness or plain ignorance lakini it needs to stop like yesterday. Kidum should take a chill pill, kwanza at the coast its crazy lol, was in Malindi over the holidays and it was Kidum everywhere.

      By the way been following you since you were on blogspot, xoxo!

  2. Nyambura January 31, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    i feel you girl…check the below out, he blasts them beeeeautifully

    http://shikomsa.com/2010/11/i-wanna-text-you-up-4/

    • not-so-little Miss Random! January 31, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

      just read it, really brings the point home. I shall find comfort in numbers I guess.

      Karibu Nyambura. xoxo!

Leave a Reply

