What’s in my handbag

3 Feb

Where Orie Rogo Manduli wears huge turbans on her head, Carole carries HUGE bags. I am always asked what exactly it is that am carrying in my bags as they are mostly big and heavy. After fielding that question for the umpteenth time today I decided to do a list of what’s in my bag which is probably stuff I invariably haul around everyday anyway and a justification of why they are there. So today am carrying a grey quilted Pura Lopez tote with a gold chain link handle. Here’s what is in it (thou shalt not judge please!):

1. Louis Vuitton Wallet (Cost me a small fortune and holds all my cards and cash, I feel totally naked without money)
2. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Purple Hibiscus (It came highly recommended and so far I am loving it, unputdownable for real)
3. Victoria’s Secrets lip gloss – melon (my fave, so yum even Mr.Man loves it)
4. Victoria’s Secrets lip gloss – Chocolate (bringing the sexy into an evening)
5. Nivea Lip Balm – Essential care (blue) (best moisturizing balm, I hate chapped lips, tres uncomfy)
6. Transcend1GB Flash Disk (work can crop up anywhere, good shoes don’t pay for themselves)
7. Business Card holder (refer to 6 above for relevance)
8. Samsung Camera (I love to take photos)
9. Notebook (am trying to develop my writing habits)
10. 2 pens (you never know which sloppy person will borrow yours and fail to give it back)
11. Dead Sea Mineral Care Spa Hand cream (did you know its easy to tell someone’s age just by looking at their hands? Enough said)
12. Beauty Formula’s Instant Sanitizer (you don’t know what lies in the stuff you touch or hands you shake)
13. Johnsons Wet wipes (so refreshing, sometimes substituted with baby wipes – have a full jar in the car)
14. Velvex Dry wipes (self-eplanatory no?)
15. Sewing Kit with black and white thread (anything can happen anywhere, anytime, you want to be ready)
16. 2 white handkerchiefs (how come you only get a runny nose when you don’t have one?)
17. Wrigleys Orbit Professional Sugarless Mints (no need to explain right?)
18. 2 Phones – Blackberry and Nokia E73
19. Sunglasses – Black cat eye (they go with most of my outfits)
20. Fa Deo Spray (I have to be Fa’s most loyal client, have used it since high school)
21. Driving Licence (the cops in Kampala don’t smile)
22. Car keys
23. Black light shawl (if there is anything experience has taught me its that, if the weather had a gender it would definitely a woman, it can PMS like a beeyatch!)
24. Odomos Mosquito repellent (old habit carried over from Dar es Salaam)
25. Passport (had to go to the bank today. Which reminds me I need a new one, only 2 pages left)
26. Make-up bag which contains:
– toothbrush and tiny tube of toothpaste
– Bvlgari Rose Essentialle Miniature Perfume
– Burberry Beat Miniature Perfume
– Black eye liner
– Brown eye pencil
– 5-in-1 Eye Shadow
– Cotton ear buds
– Nail file
– Painkillers
– Elastoplast

I’ll admit grudgingly that now that I list them it looks like a whole lot of stuff but it really doesn’t feel like much and most of them are so small and portable. Somehow I need all these things to function properly even if I might not use them all every day. Most women feel me on this one. I don’t do make up much which is why my make up bag is more of a utility bag.

Having said all that, you may now know me more intimately than people who have known me for years, you can tell a lot about a woman by whats in her bag.

What’s in your bag? Am tempted to tag a few people so that I do not have to die of public humiliation all by myself so here goes: Olive, Shiko, Mrs. Mwiti, Mrembo, Nyambura.

20 Responses to “What’s in my handbag”

  1. mrsmwiti February 27, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I did it! http://mrsmwiti.com/?p=2203

  2. shikomsa February 16, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Walalaaaaa! thats a whole lot! I’m not too far off from there either btw.

    I need you to hook me up with some Victoria Secrets chocolate lip gloss. At the moment I’m loving Lancome Juicy tubes but a gal can never have enough gloss I guess.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 16, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      Well said, there is no such thing as too much gloss. Ongea na mimi vizuri I hook you up with the Victorias Secret 😉

  3. Dark Angel February 7, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    I read Mrembos and got interested in all the others handbags. As I said on Mrembos blog, none of the you have listed any tampons or pads. Bad bad girls.

    Anyway, Mrembo tagged me. Carole, I totally get your bag!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 7, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      Dark Angel, By the way, I am not able to comment on your blog. What’s up with that?

      • Dark Angel February 8, 2011 at 3:54 am #

        Rectified now. I had some sort of setting wrong.

  4. Liz chegeh February 4, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Damn girl. I would rob your handbag for the LV and rose essentielle ( methink it smells heavenly)….ok, your bag just sounds yummy! Here is mine, am practically emptying it right now.
    1. Stick notes, something scribbled on them i cant comprehend.
    2. Velvex tissues- those that cost ten bob.
    3. Office keys with a drum key holder.
    4. Office badge…you cant get into office without one of those
    5. Steadtler pencil- wonder what that is doing in there or how it got it there.
    6. Phone charger
    7. Signature collection sensual amber lotion-

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 4, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      Liz, girl are you serious? gosh! And your lips? And your hands? And and and……. It seems I might need to stage an INTERVENTION lol. You need to give those bush people something to look forward to man lol. I will now walk away to say a prayer for you lol

  5. Sherman WERU wacuka February 3, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    1.M’y benz diary ( it is as Big as a magazine) and already full for 2011. 2. M’y pink note book as Big as a text book ( yes i am on m’y first book) m’y poem book which is not yet edited. 3. M’y metro pass,4. M’y keys .. With a tour Eiffel holder, givenchy make up bag in it (water proof conciler, day n night cream,estee lauder face compact, and it’s deluxe eyeshadow palettes, etc.. And yes two pink durex .. They were six a week ago (:-), dior red lipstick, Dior lip gloss ,,5 m’y pp ..Check book,, unpaid bills, Gucci wallet, with cr cards and family photos, 6 a book 7. Small bottle of M by Mariah .. 8. a présent from Dad with the Big 5’s of Kenya 9. My glasses. 10.. An Apple , or banana.. 11.m’y I phone , 12 a pair of ballerines for walking in The Woods after Work 13, a pack of cigarrets n a zippo lighter ( not so cool to smoke), 14 m’y bag holder .. The most untidy pièce of me is m’y bag..

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 4, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Wachuka you are my hero! First for having just as much stuff as me and two, for mentioning the durex which I was too shy to list lol. Mine are yellow and the 3pack has been intact for close to 8months now. teeheee. Once in a while I carry an apple or an orange too.

      We need to get you to quit the smoking, your lungs are precious to me coz you’re my nubian queen!

  6. mrembo February 3, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Dang girl…. all of that??? I am ashamed to list what is in mine.. .

    To find out.. you need to go over to my “house”…

    http://mremborewired.wordpress.com

    Yes.. shamelessly plugging my blog lol!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 3, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

      Mrembo,

      Don’t judge till I see your list lol. I love your house so feel free to plug it in here

  7. Zippy February 3, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Here’s my list as well.. I might as well do It cos I even don know why my bag weighs like 10kgs.

    1. Card Holder,
    2. Wallet.
    3. An envelope containing my certificate of registration (I don know what its doing in my daily handbag.)
    4. National Banks Miniature Diary (Given by the manager cos I missed an appointment. Nkt. I don like his vybe.
    5. 1 Small Zebra Bic Pen. (If I lost this one I will kill someone(
    6. My stamp and stamp pad (O.k I was in NHIF they needed it)
    7. Ideals Cheque book.
    8. A big Kenya Maritime Diary (From last year and I dont have for this year. Nkt, no one is offering??/)
    9. My Sony Camera. (I am the PR Officer somewhere. I would be sleeping on the job if I forgot this.)
    10. 2 pieces of 3meter orange and blue footmeter (My boss or someone always borrow and I find myself without my essential when a job comes up)
    11. My Small King James Version Bible (Oh this I never leave at all.)
    12. My personal cheque book. ( For large some payments.)
    13. A note book. (Its heavy, nkt)
    14. 540 Boarding Pass (What is it doing in my bag. Not going back in together with the stamp and stamp pad)
    15. Tissues. (Wo lo lo)
    16. Citrus fresh wipes. (Michelle uses them more than me.)
    17. An Always Pad (No explanation. Sometimes I rain as if I am being paid.)
    18. My Anne Klein Watch (They switch turns with the Red Swatch Michy gave me.)
    19. A note (Call my line please, someone wrote in a board meeting. What is it doing here? Not going back)
    20. An Extra Silver Round earrings. (Change with mood swings)
    21. My annointing oil!
    22. L’oreal Brown lipstick. (I love this one given as a present.)
    23. 2 Phones. Nokia E72 and my new Blackberry Storm (Long Story Miss random)

    There we are! What kind of a woman am I?

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 3, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

      Zippy I love you! Especially for having a heavier bag than mine. Atleast now I don’t feel as guilty. Sasa lakini, fly 540 boarding pass mamiii? Eh time to do handbag spring cleaning

      That story for Blackberry Storm I need to be told pap! Hmm, sounds like there is a nice story there

      xoxo!

      • Zippy February 3, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

        Lol Carole, If you found comfort in my 10kg bag, welcome to my world. It must be three notebooks, those in total is 5kg. Plus the camera.

        I just did Spring cleaning of the bag, thanks to this blog! Lets do it again soon.

        Lol hiyo story utacheka. Inbox pap.

  8. mrsmwiti February 3, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

    Hehe, thanks for tagging. Will do a post on it soon.

    But cry how do you carry so much stuff?! And when you change handbags you have to transfer all of it??

    Mine might not contain much but the amount of OLD RECEIPTS in it would take up as much space as half of that stuff you are carrying…:-)

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 3, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      Madam, hata mimi am kidogo shocked. I actually sat down and listed them as I took them out of the bag. Na by the way the bag is not that big whaaaa! When I change bags I transfer most stuff apart from the wallet (colour issues).

      Lawd, do I have a problem???

  9. olivemootai February 3, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Sweetheart, dying of public humiliation is me saying what’s in my handbag. Compared to what you have in your handbag, I might as well be carrying around the tiniest envelope. But humiliate myself I shall, If only in the name of sisterhood.

    Disclaimer: I grew up with two boys. I’ve never been a girly girl. I only carry in my handbag what i think i will need in case of an emergency, which in most cases is a small tab of vaseline. Don’t ask! Ok, here goes:

    1. Car Keys.
    2. A book on marriage – For better or for best
    3. Vaseline (aha!).
    4. My wallet (bought by hubby)
    5. A blue bic biro
    6. Daily devotional
    7. Nate’s clinic card (I always forget to remove it).
    8. A hanky
    9. Uuummm…that’s about it.

    Now how’s that for public humiliation? Clearly, this sistah need help with upgrading. Any takers?

    PS: Feel totally free to disown me. Or you could send me a package with all that nice stuff. My birthday’s coming up, 17th Feb ;).

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      Oh dear. Now I feel like a cucu carrying around my whole house while you youngsters enjoy life. Whats? I like that marriage book part (you aren’t my inspiration for nothing afterall) but wah enyewe me needs to sort you out asap!! Carole 911 to the rescue (so that atleast am not alone in all this) 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s in my handbag | mrsmwiti.com - February 27, 2011

    […] I am afraid that writing this post will bring out how cluttered my life really is. But am gonna do it anyway because  my girl Carole tagged me in this post. […]

Leave a Reply

