Veery random and worrying :-(

24 Feb

Something strange but very familiar happened to me this morning. I had an early, very high profile meeting this morning that could award us a 1 year contract worth over 3 million dollars. I have worked on this and gone over every detail with my bosses for over 4 weeks. My Nairobi boss even flew in for the meeting, thats how serious it was. I had my power suit on, A-game on, a seriously well-prepared powerpoint presentation and 2 more experienced colleagues to fill the boardroom. Immediately after my presentation it was the client’s turn to speak and that is when everything went wrong. I looked at my laptop mouse and the next thing I was thinking is, “Is the plural of mouse, mice or mouses?”. Seriously Carole???? Now???? I turned it over and over in my head for quite a long while, completely zoning off from what the client was saying and eventually losing track of the discussion kabisa. Like I was sure the plural of mouse (the rat) is mice, but I wasn’t sure if the same applies for mouse (computer). I even looked around the room for an internet cable to google this MATTER OF NATIONAL IMPORTANCE but could not locate one. Very disturbing. Somehow, thank You Big Guy, after like 5 wasted minutes I managed to bring my mind back to the discussion and get on with it. Needless to say, the thought flew right out the window after the meeting. Infact I only remembered it just now when it started to nag me again, conveniently so just when I have a tender to close by COB.

That I was so disturbed by something so trivial yet I was doing something that ACTUALLY affects my life is a little terrifying. Would the earth have suddenly shattered or shifted on its axis had I not known the answer? (which I still don’t know by the way). Will me knowing this small tidbit change the price of sugar or mark a monumental event in my life? Hell no!! So why would it nag my mind like that?

Thinking about it, its not the only time this has happened to me. I’ve lost count. Sometimes I have the randomest, unimportant but notoriously nagging thoughts in the middle of something really important. Like I can be in the boardroom listening to an important client and imagine him dressed in drag, or him wearing torn socks, sometimes I try to figure out if the black on his hair is natural or those “Easy-black” things. I might even imagine he has a small one if he is particularly boring and nasty ;). Sheesh!!

I don’t think normal people even pay attention to such things, do they?

Is something wrong with me or do you also get such random, wierd thoughts????

10 Responses to “Veery random and worrying :-(”

  1. Mackel9 March 17, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Mouses it is πŸ˜€

  2. Mrembo February 27, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Yesterday i spent a lot of time wondering if men get saggy balls. You know how women get droopy /saggy boobies as they age….so conversely what about men… What sags…hmmm balls? so is there like a ” ball lift” procedure…..

    And so it went.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! March 1, 2011 at 11:53 am #

      Mrembo you take the cake for random thoughts! Ati balls? Baba Watoto needs to pay you some extra attention today lol

  3. Dark Angel February 27, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    In 1996, i was sitting for my KCPE, writing my composition. I was about halfway done, when I wrote the word ‘about’. It looked wrong. I tried so many variations, none of them looked right. I panicked. I couldn’t write anything more. I couldn’t even change the sentence so that i didn’t have to use that word. I crunched rubbed EVERYTHING and changed the story! I finished the paper on time, but to date, I don’t understand why I couldn’t just use another word, or even do away with that sentence!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      Lol, you can remember that far back? Thank God you finished that paper though. Its so hard to explain why the little things matter so much, and thats true of many things in life

  4. Shi February 24, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Its mices. Thats the plural of your mouse:-). It happens to the best of us, but you definately are the cherry on the pie if you zone off in such an important presentation. Just get those office pins and jab yourself everytime you find your brain running haywire.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! February 25, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      Liz, I am not sadomasochistic thanks! That jabbing thing eish!! Write me a long email soon though, xoxo

  5. not-so-little Miss Random! February 24, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Miss Mootai, yaani pia wewe? I am extremely relieved and comforted lol, kwanza I refrained from mentioning that one for underwear but you just killed it hehehheheee

    Zippy, lol zingine mpaka ni unprintable? Man, I love you lol. And I officially declare that we are NORMAL!!!

  6. Zippy February 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Oh gal, don even sweat it, I think I have the most weirdest thots and sometimes I think even evil, cos I cant even write the things I focus on. and like you, I wonder do people think the same or I am just having crazy wild imaginations…

    We are normal. My justification.

  7. Olivia February 24, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Lolest!!! This is hilarious. The name ‘Random Carole’ really does fit you. I do get such random and weird thoughts myself. At some point I had this thing of trying to picture what kind of underwear someone wears, based on their personality and dressing style (weird, I know). So welcome to the wide world of weirdos darling!

Leave a Reply

