I’ve been a bad girl

28 Feb

Bad girls have ALL the fun

I’ve been a bad, baaaaaaaaaaad girl and no, do not spank me 😉

For starters, the morning runs have become a bad rumour. Sometime last month my knees had ssues and I was adviced to take 2 days off the tracks. It’s like I was waiting for that break the way travellers look for water in a desert. Yaani I took that knee pain, turned it into a serious, potentially threatening medical problem and the 5.6kms I normally cover have not seen my ass since. Shame on you Carole! Shame! Needless to say I am in terrible shape. The other day I was going to see a client when the elevator decided to fail all of a sudden meaning I had to walk up 5 flights of stairs. Holy mother! I was panting “all of mine” (yangu yote) by the time I got to his office. Luckily he had not arrived which gave me a few minutes to put myself together and somehow normalize my breathing. SMH!

My kitchen has also gone largely neglected. Its like am trying to kill the roaches by starvation where serious people use doom. The pork in Kampala has never tasted better and I found a place that does a steak as good as Java to boot. Did I mention their killer chocolate shake? Aki I am in trouble. My feeding habits have been taken over by the junk monster. It’s like I have no control. All the baddies know me by name. They call me ever so seductively and am helpless to their promises of yummyness.

In a desperate effort to chukua control again, I went into Nakumatt yesterday after church armed with loads of resolve to buy veggies and fruits to detox with for a healthy new week before I resume running. You should have seen me picking lettuce, carrots, tomatoes, etc like I was Julia Child. Buy them I did, lots and lots of them. But what happened when I got home? I set about to cooking and do you know what I made? Chocolate cake! Yes, after looking down on people’s junk-laden trolleys as I daintily (in my imagination coz there is nothing remotely dainty about me) pushed my very health-conscious one, I went home and baked a one-million calorie cake. I will not even tell you how I chowed down like half of that bad bad yummyness till bedtime! This coming from the girl who never used to eat past 7pm and certainly nothing that unhealthy!!

It’s 6:43pm now. I have been planning all day to have a light salad and fruits for dinner to make up for last night’s gluttony and poor judgement. That should then explain why I have accepted to go to Fuegos for Ethiopian food with my boss!! What was I thinking?

SOS! This is a cry for help. HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP!!!!!! Before I have to break down my front door just to get in. The heart is willing but the flesh is weak……

9 Responses to “I’ve been a bad girl”

  1. Sherman wachuka March 2, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Crédit cards, cigarettes and wine my vices, and the more I try to avoid them, the more I get drawn to them. Without m’y ciggys, a glass Of wine n’ shopping I am a nervous wreck. My hands start shiverring and I talk like crazy, and I don’t get back to being normal till I have them. I know, it’s crazy! other than that im quite displined In sports i run like a mad woman.. Nothing stops me snow, rain even thé + 40’s In summer… a perfect size one … I feed well and cook and shop mine From thé market.. Im going Home for rehab! “Je t’aime Njeri witu” this feels like an AA Class .. I was to post this earlier but i was just checking if one Of m’y village mate was ur fun.. Kiss

    • not-so-little Miss Random! March 3, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      Wachuka, babe I love all your vices lol, but I gotta get you to quit smoking!! Will we still be friends? The shopping bit, as soon as I hit the jackpot I will be on the next flight to Paris to shop with you my love! Kisses

  2. yellasoul March 1, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    This is so wierd cos just yesterday, i went to get knee & leg muscle medicine ..i had started skipping and doing stairs just last week,…and you should’ve have seen me jana diving on the couch,remote in hand…ati i am ill…lol…indeed,i am ashamed.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! March 1, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

      Grab some peanuts, lip an old “Hustle” dvd into the player, vegg for hours on end and you might as well be me!! We suck!!

  3. Zippy March 1, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Gals,

    I fell off the bandwagon four days in Tanga but I am back to my jogs, but does that mean everytime I take a break or holiday I throw all the care to the wind?

    Heeeeeeelp!

  4. not-so-little Miss Random! March 1, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Olive,

    I feel so guilty sometimes, coz I know I should have more discipline and self control. But when you put it like that, er, I feel a little better and a lot jealous at your fit self!! When I grow up…… lol

    Zippy,

    Gal, si I thought you were jogging on that beach daily? What happened? Eh, we need to get back on the wagon

    Kez,

    Atleast wewe you just got a baby, you have to eat for two (not to mention you will lose it all through breast feeding). What’s our excuse?

  5. Olivia March 1, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    That was me, when I was a young, single girl and living alone. So I feel you, like totally. Having a family somehow turned me into a health freak. I don’t do red meat as much, much to hubby’s chagrin. Veggies and fruits are my best friends. And I am fitter, thanks to daily jogs. Where am I going with this? Make the most of it lady! Without an iota of guilt. Yes! You heard me right. One day, you will remember me, because one day eating healthy will be second nature. In the meantime, go all out! Just don’t over-do it. 😉

  6. Kez February 28, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Zippy?? I am looking up to you and was going to suggest you to carole till I read your comment. Sigh.
    Yea, great piece carole! Yaani you soo accurately narrate my life in the food department 🙂

  7. Zippy February 28, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Gal thanks for writting this on my and your behalf. My flesh is the weakest of them all… Wo lo lo.

    Great piece.

Leave a Reply

