Throwdown Fridays

18 Mar

I don’t know about your part of the world but mine is pouring buckets! Not that am complaining, the heat was stifling and so much like a sauna, I am happy to finally have some rain and cool weather. The thing about Kampala is that no matter how much it rains, it never really gets biting cold so thats a plus, its just the right temperature. Nonetheless, I am insisting on dressing extra warmly, wearing socks around the house, making big mugs of hot chocolate and bringing the duvet to the living room to snuggle up infront of the Vegg-box as we Kenyans love to do :-). My excuse is that if I don’t do it now I probably never will. Atleast I have not bought a heater, human or otherwise 😉

This evening however, I shall not afford that luxury. Instead I am planning a farewell party for my awesome boss who is leaving us this weekend. We are all so sad coz he was such a team player, an easy guy to get along with and quite professional and fun loving. The reason I am the one planning the party is that I am the hardest hit; we became quite tight as he was my neighour as well as my jogging partner (been a minute though) and as we are both Kenyan we used to catch up for a drink and good old nyama choma quite often. But such is life and I wish him all the best and light wherever his path may lead.

In other matters, most of you know that this week we lost one of the guys who defined hiphop/rap, a guy whose music n tight lyrics most people of my generation grew up nodding our heads to, pretending to be all gangsta n ish – none of this Nicki Minaj/50 cent soft stuff. Together with Warren G, Nate Dogg demystified rap. His hooks were tight and so easy to sing along to. He shall surely be missed.

RIP G-funk Rap Impressario, as you liked to be referred to. Rest In Beats!!!

One Response to “Throwdown Fridays”

  1. Zippy March 18, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    May he RIP Nate…

    Oh I Hope you enjoy the rains… it hasnt started this end but I can’t wait to get a reason to cover myself up and wear long sleeved clothes, it only gets that much in this coastal town.

    All the best in the bash. Sure you will miss him. Mwambie pia mimi shall miss him.

    Lovely weekend beauty.

Leave a Reply

