Just thought I’d share

21 Mar

Quick post before I get back to work, its extremely busy on my end. I heard this phrase from a young millionaire who was being interviewed on the monique show yesterday, unfortunately I cant remember his name. What he said was so profound and rang so true given the reckless and unnecessary spending among the people of my generation.

“If you drive a LAND Rover or a Land Cruiser and still have a LAND Lord, something is terribly wrong”

Truer words have not been spoken in a long time. Have a lovely week my lovelies!! xoxo!!

5 Responses to “Just thought I’d share”

  1. Dark Angel March 24, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    The need to fit in society and societal expectations makes people do crazy things. Maajambu niomeona huku! Remember my post about Kenyans and Las Vegas? When people have their prioritizes backwards, all they see is what other people have, what they should have to be like them. I think our culture and upbringing did not teach us that ( some of us- save for those whose stuff was repossessed). Most of our parents were hardworking people, who had values worth carrying forward with every coming generation.

  2. mrembo March 24, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Funny you mention this, hubby and I have been talking about it this past week. Trying to figure out why “flossing” is so important to folks.

    Dark Angel, you father is a wise man.

    I am so stealing that quote about Land Rovers. Yani it makes so much sense.

    Have you seen the movie “the Joneses” tackles this issue in an interesting way.

  3. Dark Angel March 23, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    True that. I remember my dad would not buy a car for the longest time and I was angry at him when i was in primary school as all my friends dads had cars. He cycled to work wearing a suit. I was so embarrassed every time he passed by me and my ‘cool’ friends! But he told me that he would never buy a car to park it in front of of someone else’s house. He finally built the family house and bought a car. Took me a while to see the logic, but now it makes sense!

    It’s worse here in LA. I was even gonna post about it. Walked by a Lamborghini parked on the street. You’d have thought he / she would pay for valet parking if he / she can afford that car! People here buy very expensive cars and live in cardboard boxes. Crazy!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! March 23, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

      You dad was a wise man indeed, look at you now? By the way I also had the same hang ups growing up, but my mum always told me in kikuyu, “gwithua haria direekinyera”. Mum totally refused to live beyond her means and I think it paid off, I saw my friends houses, furniture, cars, etc being repossessed in broad daylight by auctioneers and mean-looking shylocks. SMH!! I just don’t get people

Leave a Reply

