Lemon Oregano Chicken

22 Mar

Another quick post as I seem to be swallowed up by the demands of work even more than I was last week. This one is a favourite of mine as it involves food and I love to cook and also eat good food. I found this recipe I cant remember where over an year or so back and have tried it severally loving the results more each single time. It helps that its a chicken dish as chicken has got to be the easiest thing in the world to cook.

My initial goal when I opened this blog was to write about all the things I like and I realize that I have not quite lived up to that. Seeing as cooking is one of the things I love to do most and genuinely enjoy, I have this idea to post a recipe from my cookbook weekly. I will mostly strive to do only simple, uncomplicated recipes involving ingredients that are easy to find in most parts of Africa so that even a clueless beginner will find it easy to follow through and hopefully not kill themselves with food poisoning. The invoices will follow later don’t you worry your pretty heads 😉

Lately I have been going through a particularly rough and emotionally draining time in my life, besides work, and I have been finding it very therapeutic to challenge myself beyond my comfort zone and try new things in the kitchen. I don’t know why my pots and pans have been filling me with such job. Needless to say, the future Mr.Carole had better start piling up the cows coz am earning serious kitchen bonga points if I do say so myself 🙂

Now before I go on and on about myself, here’s today’s recipe. Remember to have fun while cooking and play around with the recipe within reasonable boundaries, your experience in the kitchen should never be something you have to take Panadol for my lovelies.

You will need:
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (You can also substitute with lamb or pork if chicken is not your thing)
1 tablespoon oregano
Juice of 2 large lemons
1/2 cup olive oil
2 large cloves garlic; chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

1. Mix all ingredients in a large zip-top bag to make the marinade. Add the chicken breasts and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.

2. After marinating for 8 hours, preheat a grill pan over medium-high heat. Remove breasts from marinade and place on grill. Reserve marinade for au jus.

3. Cook chicken breasts 3 minutes on first side. After 3 minutes, rotate the breast 45 degrees and grill for an additional 3 minutes. This will create the cross marks.

4. Turn breast over and repeat step 3. Breast should be cooked through but still juicy. Make a small slit in the thickest part of the breast and check to see if cooked through.

5. While chicken is cooking, place marinade in small sauce pan and bring to boil. Lower heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Bringing the marinade to a boil will make it safe to eat. At this point, you will need to adjust ingredients for taste.

For example, I added 3 tablespoons of additional olive oil, 2 tablespoons lemon juice and about 1 teaspoon salt.

Serve with Buttered Naan, Rice, Chapati or even kawaida bread if you are too lazy to make your own!!

xoxo!!

6 Responses to “Lemon Oregano Chicken”

  1. Vera Eti March 23, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Thank you sooo much mami for this yummy yummmy recipe!!

    *grinning & clapping*

    xoxo

  2. olivemootai March 23, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    You are simply a girl after my own heart. I love cooking, I love chicken and the recipe’s simple. I will try it and let you know how it goes. Keep the recipes coming. Lovely day :).

    • not-so-little Miss Random! March 23, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      Olive, am actually surprised that we were not friends earlier given how alike we are. Please let me know how it goes

      Have a super day galfriend. xoxo!!

  3. not-so-little Miss Random! March 23, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    hey thanks for sharing. Awesome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bourbon Chicken Recipe « The Cooking Channel - March 23, 2011

    […] Lemon Oregano Chicken (randomcarole.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

