Friday Inspiration from Nigeria

25 Mar

Am currently couped up in a group strategy meeting in Nairobi which I came in for last night. I expected to be a little more challenging, which is probably why I am blogging instead of listening to the presentations and feeling challenged. Aaargh, atleast I got a free visit home to see family and friends, no? πŸ˜‰ Side note: This meeting has however been utterly useless. I hate meetings which are not carefully planned and well thought out. I don’t get why 10 people should fly all over Africa to come listen to a powerpoint presentation that could very well have been sent over email. I think it’s an insult to all those great minds, don’t you? My idea of a strategy meeting is something totally different. But I digress.

Anywho, its not all bad. At some point the meeting degenerated and I got to hear about Aliko Dangote this fabulously wealthy “Oga” who actually made the Forbes Richest people list. He is the wealthiest man in Africa. My sources tell me he is a self-made billionaire (in USD not Zimbabwe dollars) which makes him all the more fascinating unlike his less wealthy but still significantly well placed country mate Mr. Mike Adenuga, who grew up with a silver spoon in his mouth. Chineke! These Naija boys they no joke oh!

Seriously though, I am extremely excited and challenged when I hear stories of these self made African entrepreneurs who are doing big things and showing the rest of us that Africa’s potential does not have to be exploited by the West all the time, that we can grow and own our own space. It strengthens my belief that my Carole International Limited will one day get me on that Forbes list and hopefully inspire someone else to dream and achieve big.

Alternatively, I could cash in my salary, buy a one-way ticket to Nigeria, pass through Loliondo for Babu’s blessings to meet Aliko who will be so taken with me that he will immediately make me his nth wife after which I will live a pampered life of luxury happily ever after. No wahala, right? :-). After all he is only the age of my mother, not too old lol.

Something else I found more fascinating is this snippet from yet another Nigerian. When Nigeria’s former dictator Sani Abacha died and I shall not go into the very interesting details of how he died because that deserves its own blog but you can find them here, all his family assets and accounts were frozen. When contacted for comments his wife had this to say, “even if you freeze all our accounts and take all our assets, we will still never be as poor as that guy Dangote.” Go figure!!

I hope you are sufficiently inspired and challenged to achieve your dreams my friends. In the meantime, you can enjoy something more realistic and closer home, a lovely tune from one of my fave artists who is actually performing at the private party that am invited to tonight!! Have a reflective and fun weekend lovelies. xoxo!!!!

3 Responses to “Friday Inspiration from Nigeria”

  1. Zippy March 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Oh its such an inspiration and thanks for making me laugh too…

    Watch this space for Zippy International Inc. too. lol.

    This Loliondo passed my ears. Whats the storo?

    • not-so-little Miss Random! March 29, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      Zippy yaani hujaskia about huyo babu anapatiana dawa in Loliondo, Tz? Eh, kama mgongo inauma kimbia huko dada lmao

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. BILLIONAIRES ROW: THE RICHEST MEN IN AFRICA (2011) « RADICAL-8 - April 27, 2011

    […] Friday Inspiration from Nigeria (randomcarole.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

