I have a dream……

8 Apr

This morning, I was rudely awakened by some vibrations under my pillow at about 7:13am, way too early for a girl to be awake, i.e. 17 minutes before my regular time. I reached under the pillow, retrieved the crackberry, looked at the cracked screen which revealed a BBM alert, decided it’s never that serious and promptly ignored it, added a few more minutes to my alarm (from 7:30am to 8:10am) then promptly tucked myself deeper into my warm beddings and shut my eyes super tight.
Frustratingly, a few minutes later my mind was still wandering all over the place, mostly fantasizing about what could be, what should be, another place, another time, the future perhaps? People, I am not a Pisces for nothing; I am the queen of daydreaming. I have the most vivid, beautiful day dreams, much sweeter than the night ones definitely. If the castles I have built in my day dreams could come true, trust me Warren Buffet and Oprah would have nothing on me on the Rich Scale.
Today’s particularly shamelessly sweet day dream went on long after my alarm had rang and several snooze minutes had been added. The next thing I knew it was 8:48am and I was dashing out of bed like a mad woman to frantically start preparing for work which I was already late for anyway. SMH
Before you judge, the weather was totally asking for it. It was raining cats, dogs and every other animal in between, was still quite dark outside at that hour and the chilly breeze from my open window made it mandatory for an earnest warmth-search. What’s a girl to do? 😉
Anyhow, one of my chilly-weather day dreams that replayed itself in my head for the umpteenth time this morning goes something like this………….

It’s a slow Friday afternoon, am in the office winding up the day’s work, trying to dash out early to beat the traffic that is slowly building up on Waiyaki way, a result of the rain that’s beating down on my window and the streets below. It’s like everyone and his dog bring out their jalopies into the roads at the slightest hint of rain. One would be forgiven to think that Nairobians are made of salt; that perhaps they would melt at contact with the rain drops. I, however, refuse to be a victim of the endless, frustrating hours of traffic; I always sneak out at the first signs of clouds gathering in the sky.
As I walk out of the office, my mind is already me settling on the couch in front of the television watching Season 5 of “Grey’s Anatomy”, mug of hot chocolate in hand, pop corn within reach, dressed like an Eskimo in the North Pole and covered to within an inch of my life. I hurry even more if at all that is possible at that welcoming, tempting mental scenario.

Shortly am cruising down Westlands road happily singing along to Kimberly Locke’s “8th world wonder” when my very own 8th world wonder calls. I smile like a love-struck teenager as I reach into my handbag on the passenger seat for the phone. See I know it’s him even without looking at the screen of my phone because Atemi’s “Happy” is shrilling away, the aptly-titled caller ID tone that I’ve assigned to the man that makes me happy every single day. My face brightens as I quickly lower the volume from the CD Player and adjust my voice to that lazy lovers drawl that we all subconsciously switch to when we are talking to that special someone. “Where are you Peaches?” asks the sexy voice on the other end of the phone. “In traffic heading home, Mocha”, I respond in the sweet girl voice he brings outs of me without even trying. “Pack a bag for the weekend, am picking you up in an hour. Pack some warm clothes too”. Huh? Just like that? In typical female fashion I want to know more, “where are we going? For how long? When did you plan this?”. Etc, etc. I can hear him laughing on the other end, he knew that was coming but is not planning on telling me a thing. “Just pack enough to last you till Sunday Woman, and relax that pretty head of yours”.

I love it when he calls me his “Woman”. I get such a tingly, exciting feeling you know where. There’s something so MANLY MAN about the way he says it. I guess all women love a man who can put them in their place, a strong man who dominates them and makes them know who’s boss. In any event, I turn into a mushy, giggly pulp and promise to be ready in an hour. Sounds exciting! My evening with Mcsteamy is quickly forgotten; after all what could beat an evening with a real, African, tall drink of Mocha that actually knows my name? that’s why I call him Mocha by the way, his skin is this sexy chocolate colour that’s only perfected in a well made Mocha latte. He’s just as sweet too, if not more.

I rush home mentally planning which outfits to pack, what to bring with such little notice and barely any information as to my destination to go by. I’ll just have to be resourceful and pack a little bit of everything. Thank heavens I had bought that little, black lacy, baby doll lingerie set with the red, fur trimming that instantly transforms me into a playboy vixen. Someone is in for a treat!! Mr. Man is definitely not the only one with some tricks up his sleeve. Hmmmm…………

Less than an hour later, I’ve freshened up, packed and now pacing up and down the corridors waiting for the bell to ring. I’m extremely excited to be spending the weekend with my gorgeous man away from Nairobi and all the depressing familiarities, especially since it’s so spontaneous. The possibilities are endless, the promise of total relaxation, no work, breakfast in bed, exploration, hours of endless love making thrilling. Bliss! There is an unexplainable warmth spreading through me despite the draught in my flat, the result of the ruthlessly cold July weather.

Fortunately, I do not have to wait long. A few minutes later I hear the all too familiar purr of his engine as he drives his 4*4 into the gate and later the loud thuds as he runs up the stairs, two at a time as he normally does. My heart flutters a little bit and I get all flustered. It’s been 3 awesome years with him but my heart still skips a beat when I think about him. I still cannot believe that he’s real, that I was blessed enough to find the one whose heart beats in the same rhythm as mine. The one I laugh with, cry with, hold intelligent mentally stimulating conversations with, do business with, argue with, try out new things with, get stupid with; the one who loves me unconditionally, and I him. I still pinch myself often enough just to remind myself to be ever grateful to the big guy above for this blessing. Putting myself together, I skip to the door and open it just as he stretches his hand out to ring the bell. He looks so yummy as he catches his breath and I step into his outstretched arms into a warm, tight embrace without saying a word. Bruce. My friend. My soul mate. My lover. And damn good at all three.

“I’ve missed you Peaches. How about we get out of here before the traffic gets even crazier or we’ll never get where we are going?”. I nod gingerly and get out of the way to let him in, walking behind him as I admire all 6”4 inches of him. He catches me staring and playfully lifts me up to be level with him, then gives me a long, warming kiss. We might not leave the apartment if this kiss goes on for another 2 minutes, I think in my head. He also notices this and we quickly bundle out of the house, my luggage in his big hands. He silently marvels at just how big a suitcase I’ve packed for only a weekend away. Nonetheless, he long ago gave up on questioning me about it; our previous trips together have cushioned him against any such shock. Now my inability to pack light just amuses him, and constantly provides fodder for playfully teasing.

Once my stuff is neatly packed into the boot, we cruise onto Waiyaki Way and make our way to lord knows where. I am still blissfully in the dark but I trust this man with my life. I sigh deeply into the plush seat, for the first time realizing just how tired I am. Involuntarily, my eyes close and I slip off into a comfortable nap. The next thing I know, I am being tossed up and down. My eyes fly open only to be met by pitch darkness. I can tell we are on a rough road but it seems to me that we might be lost. We are in the middle of nowhere, it’s so quiet, the only noise coming from our vehicle. I look up to find him smiling at me………….

TO BE CONTINUED…………………………. Have a lovely weekend Lovecats!! xoxo 🙂

13 Responses to “I have a dream……”

  1. Karuu May 5, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    This is a dream na nusu. When is part 2 streaming in? And dark Angel has really captured the ending in a not-so-mexican way…..

    • not-so-little Miss Random! May 6, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      hehehee, am getting a lot of pressure to deliver that part 2. I hope it captures your imagination just as part one did. xoxo!!!

  2. kbaab April 13, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

    Hahaha! I love that dream!! Part 2 lini?

  3. olivemootai April 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    You are quite the dreamer, aren’t you missy? Looking forward to the sequel. Lol!! @Dark Angel….nice ending!

  4. braintattoo April 10, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Mmmmmhhhh, am so caught up in this dream. Looking forward to the sequel

  5. Mrembo April 9, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Wewe… that cliff hanger is the best cause now I am wondering.. are you dreaming ama is it real?

    Looking forward to part two.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! April 11, 2011 at 11:47 am #

      Madam,

      Am I dreaming? Hmm, let’s see how the sequel goes. Am still waiting for the person who can deliver that dream or atleast a better version of it……

      Sequel in the kitchen!! xoxo!!

  6. Dark Angel April 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    ….then he gets down on one knee, ever so slowly, his eyes never leaving yours. Your heart beat quickens, pounds against your ribcage so hard you can swear he can hear it. Everything is in slow motion, even the wind seems to have paused just for this moment. Then carefully, he ties your loose shoe lace:), gets up and smiles at you.

    Have a fab time!!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! April 11, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      haahahahaaaa!! I have laughed all of mine (yangu yote). Way to crash my Mills & Boons fantasy! Lmao. Totally love your unxpected ending, I even toyed with the idea of ending mine in such a fashion lakini let me stick to the fairytell ending. If Mexican soaps have tought me anything its that women anre suckers for happy endings.

      xoxo!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Do you see anything to smile about? « randomcarole - May 6, 2011

    […] at the moment as much as I want to. Bear with me, the pressure am feeling to deliver part 2 of “I have a dream” does not help matters one […]

Leave a Reply

