Do you see anything to smile about?

6 May

First of all a mini-update. Am back to Kampala now and while away work decided to pile up together with all its relatives. Am totally swamped but still thanking God for my wonderful job. The “busy-bee” thing could be one of the reasons for the sporadic blogging. The other one is probably a mental block, I just cant put my thoughts to paper at the moment as much as I want to. Bear with me, the pressure am feeling to deliver part 2 of “I have a dream” does not help matters one bit.

In better news, I must mention that I had my debut meet-a-fellow-blogger experience last Friday. The very cool and inspirational Dark Angel happened to be in Nairobi at the same time as me and we decided to do coffee which somehow turned into Amarula for her and yucky, warm red wine for me. Grrr!! Apart from the major drama she talked about in this post, it was an otherwise lovely date, we went on and on like we had known each other for years. She still owes me an ipod though πŸ™‚ , am not even forgetting that lol.

Getting back to the point of this blog, lately I’ve been thinking about all the things that are happening in the world especially my part of the world, East Africa and it all looks so grim, tough and disheartening. If its not the rising cost of fuel, its the serious shortage of that precious commodity that could grind our economy to a halt. Food prices have practically doubled, meanwhile our politicians are just bickering and throwing blame from left to right instead of dealing with the issues. In Uganda, the political situation is quite unstable; democracy seems to be negotiable depending on who is defining it and how it affects their personal interests :-(. People cannot even walk to peace anymore without being dispectfully thrown into police land rovers like sacks of potatoes. It’s a crying shame. From the global perspective, things don’t look any better; from earthquakes to floods to rising debt, it’s a world in turmoil.

Do you see anything to smile about? Most times I don’t. Most times it all seems too bleak, like the reality that I know and am accustomed to could change in the blink of an eye and I would not even have control over it. I hate not having control, I hate the helplessness it brings. Yet this is my reality; our reality.

Then I take a keener look, stop feeling sorry for myself and I realize how many reasons I have to smile. I look at the world around me and my situation pales in comparison to that of the people starving in Turkana, the people in Kampala who are awaiting for the bullet to be removed from their son’s head as he lies in a Coma in Mulago Hospital as many others mourn their dead relatives – the result of unnecessary fighting, the people in Japan trying to re-build their lives from scratch after the earthquakes, IDPs being tossed every which way in debatable re-settlement schemes, the person surviving on less than a dollar a day who does not have a clue where their next meal will come from, the person whose car just stalled in the middle of the road coz they cannot get fuel, the person who just lost their daughter because her deranged husband felt entitled to take away her life, the person who cannot even afford a smile coz their teeth hurt…… etc….. etc……

It’s never that serious. There is always something to smile about, even in the darkest hour. If nothing else, you are alive and have the great opportunity to change your tomorrow positively.

So I will smile, if it kills me I will smile!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

7 Responses to “Do you see anything to smile about?”

  1. Karegi May 14, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    it’s not sooo bad since they invented vodka

  2. Mrembo May 8, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Mwatu, got tell u that was a depressing read yet the truth. Sigh orvrather smile

    • not-so-little Miss Random! May 10, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      Mrembo, the truth is painful. Sometimes we sit in our cutchy pampered lives and forget that its not the same everywhere. We are the ones who are doing well despite what we think, its worse for most.

      Bambi! Hope you and the babies are fine and Baba Watoto came back before you pull out your hair πŸ™‚

  3. Abigail-Precious Ambweni May 6, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Aaaaw! I used to blog! Dunno what happened but I miss it! Best therapy in the world!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smile, and the World Smiles Back? My Challenge. | CHANGEversations - July 12, 2011

    […] Do you see anything to smile about? (randomcarole.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

