Not guilty

25 Jul

That’s the verdict the jury would unanimously pass if I were to be charged with gross abandonment of this blog and lack of fulfilling promises.

Defense: I have been hella busy. Last week I traveled with little time and even less access to the internet. I only got back to Uganda last night to a tender that was due COB today and an ever-growing pile on my desk. Don’t even get me started on the emails. Phew!!

Nonetheless I must share a few lessons I learnt and re-learnt in the course of the past week:

1. The most profound and by far important lesson I learnt is that Fear is the WORST enemy anyone can ever have. FEAR and the subsequent lack of faith in one’s abilities even when they are clear as crystal to everyone else. I have been doubting myself and my abilities for a while now but it became clear to me that it is not that I am not able, it is just the fear keeping me from my dream. You would have to be in my shoes to know just how important this discovery was to me. I am like a bird which has been set free!!
2. The best friends I have in this world are those I have known the longest even though I may not speak to them every single day or even speak often enough. They are ALWAYS there, a conversation picked up after a few months of silence flows effortlessly and leaves me smiling. God bless their big hearts.
3. There are some good people out there. There really are! You just have to be more accommodative and open your eyes and heart a little wider.
4. I am growing up. I will not even expound on this.
5. A kind smile or a kind word costs you nothing yet could mean the world to the person you extend it to.
6. And finally: Natural hair on the go is a pain in the ass!!

XOXO Lovelies!!!

7 Responses to “Not guilty”

  1. Karuu August 1, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    As i read this, the only thing that comes to mind is Guilty by Usher …… Dunno why. Now, for your natural hair, it gets to a point it “refuses” to grow. Esp when you are craving for that “Mosodo”. You better use a hair scratcher…….they came in round shape with a mirror on one side and a handle ……

    • not-so-little Miss Random! August 2, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Banange Nyabo! I am innocenti (insert a muganda accent).

      Lakini you chick! Alalaallalaaaaa! Do they still sell scratchers? Mamamia, you’ve taken me down memory lane kabisa!

  2. kbaab August 1, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Of course it’s a no brainer that I’m gonna ask you to expound on point number 4.

    Thanks for sharing the other 5 points. 🙂

    • not-so-little Miss Random! August 2, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      Pop open a bottle of gin, a cold tonic, ice and lemon on the side, call me over and you may just hear that story 🙂

  3. Karuu July 27, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Woi, at “mosodo” length….. i just walked into a kinyozi the other day and shaved my dreads…. now am kinda regretting. Natural kinky hair that forms tumatuta matuta after a few hours

    As for the lessons learnt, true true

  4. Zippy July 25, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    1. You are forgiven for being a bad gal.

    2. Thanks for sharing your lessons learnt and I so agree with you on all of them, lol just don know how natural hair feels for a long time.

    Bless. Thanks for this piece.

    Ps. You still have a fine to pay.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! July 25, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

      I know I do! Woi, bracing myself for it. I have been a bad girl!

      Natural hair is a blessing lakini saa zingine I feel like running to the nearest kinyozi and chopping it all off. Grrrr!! Cant wait for it to grow to atleast “mosodo” length lol

Leave a Reply

