tic toc tic toc

2 Aug

Is it 5pm yet? Grrrr. The clock really does move a lot slower when your eyes are on it every 30 or so seconds.

I cant wait to get out of here (on time for once) and take my lazy ass to the gym, which by the way is starting to pay off finally :-). Phew!

I have had the randomest day today, no wonder am not feeling work at all. To start with I woke up earlier than usual, 7am is very early in my world and could not help but call my mum just to let her know how I wake up so early to build this nation lol. Little does she know that my regular wake up call is 7:45am followed by three 5-minute interval snooze sessions after which I force myself out of my magnetic bed and into reality.

See I had to tape a live business show at 9am at UBC (Uganda Broadcasting Corporation) and I hadn’t even prepped so I had to be on time if only to get there on time and avoid making a fool of myself on national TV. Am told by those who watched that it went well even though I was a nervous mess. Happens to me all the time.

After that did brunch at Javas with my peoples and went around looking for my lotion which apparently is out of production. Not out of stock, but out of production!!! WTF????? Hisssss!! Now before you think I am overreacting, I have to tell you about this lotion. I have never really had skin issues but this lotion is the answer to all my beauty needs, real and imagined. I do swear by it! Its soft and silky without being over-oily and it smells like heaven without being overwhelming. It also comes in a huge bottle which guarantees me two whole months usage so even though it is a little on the pricy side, it serves me for longer. So you can imagine my dismay this morning especially since I have totally run out and I was too broke to buy it the last time I spotted it! 😦

Disappointed I went back to Javas my mouth pulled from here to high heaven and explained to my peoples this earth shuttering dilemma. To appease me my pal J suggests we go to this wholesaler place in downtown Kampala as he is always the last person to run out of stuff. It seems far fetched at that area is not exactly known for original stuff but am far too optimistic to give up. Off we go and after getting stuck on traffic for about an hour on a one kilometre stretch, cussing at matatu drivers, almost knocking a few boda boda guys, begging and bribing for parking, removing my jewellery and all that drama, we finally get to the shop.

This is where the real randomness starts. As we walk up there is “mtush guy” (second hand clothes dealer) opening up a bale of scarves. A fuchsia one catches my eye but it is already in the arms of another lady but I intend to get it one way or the other. Shopaholic stops and descends on the pile like a lunatic. A few minutes later, I am holding a vintage Gucci scarf (not Pucci or Fucci or that Moi Avenue crap), an original Louis Vuitton scarf and a very silky pink Pashmina. WIN!!!

Across the road another guy has funguad camera for kids clothes and J reckons she can get pyjamas for her son. We descend on that pile too and emerge with serious steals. Her baby will definately be sleeping well if sleeping gear is any contributor.

Then she remembers that a few shops from there there is a lady who brings her awesome bras from the UK, would I like to check it out? Of course! We go there too. And then to a million other places, all thoughts of going to work forgotten.

2 hours down the line we are still downtown spending money we had not planned to spend and wasting our employers time. SMH!!

Of course it is only natural that after such a random day I am in no mood for real work. Thank heavens I do not even have much of that at the moment or we may have a big problem on our hands.

So I plonked myself on my seat, styled my new purchases all inside my head, surfed on this snail paced internet before it struck me that I could actually kill the remaining 35 minutes of my official office hours by pretending to do a meaningful post here. I have succeeded. It is now 5:16pm and I am out of here!!

8 Responses to “tic toc tic toc”

  1. Bee August 12, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    Perfect way to waste a day. On the hand lotion.. hmm I use mine alot and I think two months is on the shorter side if that’s how long it lasts!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! August 12, 2011 at 9:57 am #

      True Bee,

      On the hand lotion, mine comes in a very big bottle and I use it a whole lot. True value for money though

  2. kbaab August 5, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    hehehe! Randomness galore! Like Shiko says, we love it. Many are the days that I’ve had like a thousand bob in my pocket and gone home with a couple of nice finds. *sigh*

    • not-so-little Miss Random! August 12, 2011 at 9:58 am #

      I can imagine. But seriously isn’t a Kenyan thousand note under so much threat? When am home I can hardly believe how fast it disappears

  3. Karuu August 3, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    I wish i can enroll in your school of randomness. Am actually with the confused lot. Nothing seems to work in my world. From customs to VAT to TIN registration ……Kweli this is Kla…… Am on “Aaagggrrr” mode since Monday…..

    • not-so-little Miss Random! August 3, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

      Karuu, Pole sana madam. This is probably not good advice but have you tried greasing palms? That works best here, and of course knowing the right people. Yaani here you can get away with anything depending on who you know.

      Please don’t forget to smile in between the aaaaarghs

      On Wed Aug 3rd, 2011 5:26 AM PDT

  4. shikomsa August 3, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Such is the life of girls. But we love it no?

    • not-so-little Miss Random! August 3, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

      Shiko,

      I doubt my boss would love it as much as I do though 🙂

      On Wed Aug 3rd, 2011 4:59 AM PDT

Leave a Reply

