Dancing Sermons

14 Oct

I haven’t posted in eons!! I will not even explain, I will just plead for pardon and move on to this thing that so inspired me today.

It all begins with a call that I received yesterday from a beloved old friend that I haven’t met in almost 3 years telling me he was in Nairobi, which coincidentally I also am. We quickly made plans to do lunch today at his hotel. The last time I saw him was also the first. We met very briefly at Movenpik Hotel in Dar es Salaam after I almost ran over the poor man in my rush to get to a lunch appointment. Ever so gracious, he accepted to forgive me if only I would indulge him in a late afternoon coffee and a chat. Given my gross misconduct, I quickly accepted to meet him a couple of hours later. It helped that there was nothing remotely creepy about him, he had the most impeccable manners and this “IMPORTANT” air about him.

Later that evening, I sat across this gentleman and what was meant to be a brief coffee date turned into hours of witty, intelligent, world-wise conversation that would have fooled anyone around us into thinking we had known each other for ages.

3 years and countless emails and skype chats after that fateful day, I met Trevor Mwamba, the Bishop of Botswana, for lunch today and I was still as much in awe as I was that day 3years ago.

See Trevor is not your average man of the collar, apart from being the Bishop of Botswana, he also played a big part in writing the constitution of Zambia being one of the best constitutional lawyers in Africa, is an honorary head of state in the Commonwealth Summit, is a legal advisor to Standard Chartered Bank in Africa, heads the Africa Assembly of Churches, is a best selling author among other things and still manages to be a husband and father to 3 lovely kids. With this kind of hectic schedule, pinning the man down is hard and our longest talks have been when he is in Airport lounges waiting for his next flight to his next big engagement.

Titles aside, Trevor must be the most humble “larger-than-life” person I have ever met. That he finds time to listen and mentor little old me given all the more important people he could be talking to is humbling and a great honour. The Sowetan best described him, “he comes across as a counselor and a friend to peasants and kings”. To me he is the guy I almost ran over who became a great friend. To most people he is one of the most remarkable Africans of our time, hobnobbing with heads of states and the who is who in Africa. His humility is amazing and humbling.

Anyway, this post is not about heaping praise on Trevor, though deserved. It is more about something he said to me today while he was conjuring up the appropriate way to autograph his gift to me, a copy of his best selling book, “Dancing Sermons”. Most of our conversations have over time been punctuated with him referring to my wit, he calls it unaffected. *blush*. Midway his autograph, he was torn between thanking me for my wit or my friendship without writing too much. That’s when he suddenly turned to me and asked, “why can’t I have it all? Why cant I write them both?”.

Why cant I have it all? I quickly, against better judgement, quipped that people need to make choices in life. Being the wise man that he is, he continued the autograph remarking on both my friendship and my wit in the same vein then engaged me in a conversation that really made a difference to my day and my perspective on life. I really do not have to choose. Not always. It is possible to have it all, unapologetically so.

I must learn to accept things as they are, without judging one aspect and living the other. If a diamond did not have many cuts and facets to it, it would not be quite as magnificent. Why then must I be either one thing or the other? Am I not a sum of all the things that make up Carole the person? Good, bad, big, loud, intelligent, emotional, witty, strong, weak, proud, timid, confident, spiritual, wild, etc. They are all the sum of me. I doubt I would be half the woman I am if I did not exercise all the facets of my character and any person who insists on seeing only the better side of me loses out on knowing a fantastic human being. Emphasis being their loss, not mine.

That goes for other things in life as well. It doesn’t always have to be black or white. Sometimes a little grey is nice, the best of both worlds. Sometimes we take life too seriously and miss out on some pretty awesome adventures and lessons. We create pointless rules for ourselves because we want to fit in or because we have this ill-conceived notions that some things are wrong, mostly because of our upbringing and societal expectations. Well, its time to make your own rules. Life is too short to have that many rules, too good to pass up on the little pleasures, too fast to not take advantage of every passing minute.

If I learned anything today is that I should not pass up any opportunity to have my cake and eat it too. If I can do it all, why not?? For that lesson, I am glad I waited three years.

Have a lovely weekend my lovelies, do it all and enjoy it while you’re at it. Bisous!!!

P/s: You can purchase “Dancing Sermons” on Amazon, to celebrate dancing in rhythm with God’s love.

6 Responses to “Dancing Sermons”

  1. Ghafla!Guy October 27, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    Amazing post! Huyo ni bishop kweli? (Is he really a Bishop?)

    • not-so-little Miss Random! October 28, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Ghafla, imagine ni Bishop wa ukweli. Ebu google him and read all the amazing stuff he does. πŸ™‚

  2. Karuu October 15, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Hhmmm, Very thoughtful of you to share such deep words that really leave you asking yourself, Why not have it, live it all?

    • not-so-little Miss Random! October 17, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      Don’t choose, if you really don’t have to. It doesn’t make you selfish to want it all. Bisous!!

  3. Zippy October 15, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    So insightful… Thanks for sharing this.
    Absolutely why not? I choose to have it all.
    No apologies.
    Baci cara.

Leave a Reply

