Happy New Year!!!

5 Jan

Happy New Year lovelies!! I acknowledge I’m a little late but that was a wise woman who said better late than never. It couldn’t have been a man. Before you start with me, no, I did not join some feminist movement while on my long sabbatical off the blog; which by the way I am trying to apologize for indirectly (and hopefully succeeding)

The last few months were harrowing on the work front, there were lots of changes in my personal life as well, all or most of which you will hear about soon enough. Between working crazy hours and figuring out all the adjustments in my life, I just couldn’t write at all. That’s how good a friend Mr. Mojo is, deserting me in tough times like that

Anyway, he is not quite back so I just popped over to wish you all a happy New Year and rant randomly for a bit on this New Year business that has everyone seeing silver linings everywhere. I have missed this place so :-(, I hope I will be able to write more often. While on that topic, I decided last year to make some changes to the blog but being a little IT-challenged none of this is working out very well. Anyone willing to help a sister out? *damsel in distress calling!!!

Have you made any New Year resolutions? Do you see yourself keeping then till next week?

I used to be the kind of person that religiously sat down with pen and diary on the 31st of every year and made out a long list of resolutions. I would spend hours noting down my do’s and don’ts for the coming year and fine tuning them; then spend more time convincing myself that they were keep-able (is that even a word?). Top on the list was always losing weight followed by boyfriend stuff, work stuff and all that boring stuff people like to go on about. Unfortunately by the second week of January I would find myself in one coffee house or other ordering a double mocha latte with three helpings of sugar, large cheese burger and an unhealthy serving of fried chips. There goes resolution number one!! The guilt would only last as far as the first bite of those yummy fries.

The rest of the resolution would fly out the window just as quickly and by March I couldn’t even define the word resolution to save my life. Reso-who?

I’m not much of a routine person, so it was only natural that this year in year out routine would bore me senseless. I just didn’t get what the point was. It’s not like I was being accountable to anyone but myself so why keep up the charade? One day I just decide it was not worth it wasting hours writing down resolutions that I had no intention of keeping. So I stopped.

Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against making positive changes in the areas of one’s life that need an overhaul. I am all for self improvement, as a matter of fact I do it all the time. What I have a problem with is living with a negative habit for whatever amount of time, be it months or days, just so one can wait for the “symbolic” New Year to change. That’s self destruction if you ask me.

My policy for my life is this simple. If something needs to change, I change it now. I don’t wait for January or my birthday or for some sign from heaven to change it. I just go ahead and take the plunge. If it works out as planned; more power to me. If it doesn’t I keep trying till I finally succeed or convince myself it’s not worth it any more. I recognize the difference a couple of months/weeks/days can make and I take full advantage of that time.

So this beginning of year, I really have no resolutions to share. I just plan on continuous and sustainable self improvement, God keeping me.

I would love to hear yours though. God bless you all and keep you happy in 2012. Xoxo 🙂

9 Responses to “Happy New Year!!!”

  1. Kenyan Brutus January 20, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    Hey randomcarole, writing is like boxing; the more you do it, the better you get at landing punches 🙂

    Seriously, write.

    • not-so-little Miss Random! January 20, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      Another post coming up soon :-). Wish I could box too for good measure

      • Kenyan Brutus January 23, 2012 at 10:13 am #

        Ok. Clearly you have not heard of the thing about ladies and boxing 🙂

  2. Ghafla!Guy January 9, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    God bless you too. Keep the blogging juice flowing too this year! 🙂

  3. Karuu January 5, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Happy New Year as well!. A bird mentioned that you have moved on and upwards as far as jobs are concerned. Congratulations! Am happy for you and I know that you are destined for greater and finer things in life

    Let’s read more from you this year……

  4. kbaab January 5, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Happy New year Missy. I hope we shall read more from you this year. *adds pressure* 🙂

    • not-so-little Miss Random! January 6, 2012 at 12:00 am #

      Oh dear!! Pressure!! Lakini I will take that as my challenge for the year. Does that make it a resolution??

Leave a Reply

