Never say never……and a damsel in distress!

2 Apr

Life has a very dry sense of humour. If life we a person, it would definitely be a Brit.

Sometimes I think it deliberately juggles stuff the wrong way round just to keep itself entertained…….

How else do you explain the fact that whenever I say I will never do something I invariably end up doing it, while life sits smugly on the sidelines with a big, fat “I told you so” grin on its face?

I’m not about to give examples because most are a little er……er…. but let’s just say the last one week has pounded that lesson into me with resounding vehemence. Maybe this time I’ll learn to let life flow, or maybe just to scratch the ‘never’. Hopefully if I don’t say never it won’t happen……

Moving on from life’s bigger lessons, I’ve been harbouring this fantastic idea concerning the blog for a while now but I’m still stuck at the execution stage.

I realized that as random as I am it gets hard to follow my thought process what with each post coming from a different experience. The idea is to lump together posts of a similar nature to make navigating around here even easier. Maybe the lack of clutter might also stimulate my mojo to churn out more posts? For starters I am thinking of about 5 or so segments; Foodie (recipes), Fitness (getting my sexy back), Guest writers (mi casa es su casa, you get to write a post about whatever you’d like, whatever makes the cut is posted here), short stories and finally, The how I met X project (something very exciting that am working on, will talk more about it in a separate post). Of course I shall still post my general, random rumblings which are not quite classifiable into any of these classes.

Long story short, I need someone who’s a bit more tech-savvy than me to assist in making this happen. WordPress is not quite as straight forward as blogger and I’ve been having a bit of a headache making this happen. Kenyan Brutus I hope you’re seeing this seeing as you’ve the voice of my conscience; I promise to be more consistent if only I can get this out of the way.
Rambling over, back to serious Monday business.

Blessed week to you my lovelies!! Love and peace 🙂

11 Responses to “Never say never……and a damsel in distress!”

  1. LipstickNotes April 13, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    Hey Carol,
    I think you can do that by adding a page on wordpress and create subsegments under it. Try it and see, however should that not work dont blame a sister its Friday and things sometimes tend to get over this here my head on Fridays!

    • not-so-little Miss Random! April 13, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

      thanks lovie. Stuck with a delayed flight so I might as well work on that. I know about that, am on my way to inebriation on free liquor at the business lounge 🙂

  2. LipstickNotes April 13, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    How about creating a page and then having segments in the page. I do not thing you have to have premium to do that. Try and tell me, I could just be imagining my own solutions seeing as its Friday Eveining!
    One tends to get over their heads sometimes!

  3. kbaab April 10, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    We need to have the X project out soonest! I’m no guru but I can help with the re-modelling. Don’t move to blogger (I need to track my comments and ish) 🙂

    • not-so-little Miss Random! April 12, 2012 at 12:21 am #

      Apparently I have to upgrade to premium to make it happen. The kikuyu in me is painfully debating this move……. If you have another option I’d really love to hear it 🙂

  4. Ghafla!Guy April 3, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Damsel in distress! I’m stuck in blogger too. We should all move to WordPress to solve these teething projects. As many as of who agree say aye..

    • not-so-little Miss Random! April 3, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

      Very weak aye….. I made the move over an year ago and I am still not any better at it……..

      • Ghafla!Guy April 10, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

        Hmmm.. I’m moving to WordPress. In no time I will be a guru and sort you out. That’s a promise.

  5. Kenyan Brutus April 2, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    X project sounds intriguing. Unfortunately, the damsel in distress is shouting to the wrong knight! My wordpress skills are in the same region as my culinary skills.. resigned to only the most basic of tasks.

    Now if you were looking for a knight to show you around the more seedier side of Nairobi, or even to teach you how to hot wire a car.. then it would be another story….

    • not-so-little Miss Random! April 3, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      X project is exciting, its almostbursting out of me before I can get the inaugural post out of the way. And I will need reader participation too….. What tells you I cannot make my way round the seedier part of Nairobi? 😉

      • Kenyan Brutus April 4, 2012 at 10:32 am #

        From Kawaha post. If you can take a book and read in a coffee shop, then its not seedy enough.

        Where I frequent, people take their coffee like antelopes at a watering hole; with one eye scanning the door and the other on the guy in the next table.

        Go on girl, get on with this X project!

Leave a Reply

